Video

Chris Hadfield on risk and reward

24 Mar

Chris Hadfield paints a vivid portrait of how to be prepared for the worst in space (and life).

And yet, nothing in my 37 years of flying experience helped me prepare for the situation that led to the accident that injured my spinal cord. I wonder, was I  a good student during all those years?

ted

 

 

ted

One Response to “Chris Hadfield on risk and reward”

  1. Jean September 13, 2014 at 19:10 #

    I read Hadfield’s book and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was inspiring and dorkus me, just didn’t pay attention at all when he was playing his guitar and tweeting with the world while in space. I am abit of luddite on popular newsy stuff of the day. Hey, I don’t even care about the Tour de Alberta and I’m a long time cyclist.

    I don’t think there’s anything to prepare anyone for SCI. But for certain, what would be useful for some other folks (not you), who are lost literally on what to do with themselves in life, and personal time, is to live each day, year well…because one never knows about one’s good health later on.

    I work near a colleague who has a baby that has hydrocephaelus, water in the brain/head area. The baby was born 6 months premature. I remember him joyfully telling us about his wife’s pregnancy..and then 2 wks. later the birth occurred unexpectedly.

    Just yesterday, after I asked how the daughter was….after not at all asking for past 3 months, he told me now that doctors suspect the baby is near blind. They are not sure since baby is still young. But it wouldn’t be surprising… because of attempts to drain excess water from brain.

    The baby unlike both of us, doesn’t even begin on equal footing at beginning of life going forward and for a good part of adult life.

    It’s incredibly humbling… I honestly don’t even know what to say to him anymore later. Probably no point since it’s really tough now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

